Share this story:

Nigeria is Africa’s largest oil and gas producer. There are two types of crude oil produced in the Niger delta basin: light or comparatively heavy, with the lighter having a gravity of 36 and the heavier having a gravity of 20–25.

According to statistics from February 2021, Nigeria’s oil sector accounts for around 9% of the country’s GDP.

Below is the list of Nigeria’s top three oil-producing states and their respective contributions.

  1. Rivers State:

Rivers State, usually known as Rivers, is a state in southern Nigeria’s Niger Delta region. It was formed in 1967 when the previous Eastern Region was broken up.

Rivers State is home to two major oil refineries, two major seaports, airports, and a variety of industrial estates.

Rivers State produces 21.43 percent of the total crude oil production.

  1. Delta State:

Delta State is a Nigerian state located in the country’s South-South geopolitical zone.

Delta, which has Asaba as its capital, is the country’s second-largest oil producer, accounting for 21.56 percent of total production.

Uzere (formerly “Uzei”) is a town in Delta State, Nigeria, in the Isoko South Local Government Area (LGA). It has grown into one of Nigeria’s most important oil-producing communities.

  1. Ondo State:

Ondo State is a Nigerian state located in the southwest. It was formed from the previous Western State on February 3, 1976.

It has a 180-kilometre coastline, making Ondo State the Nigerian state with the longest coastline.

Ondo State produces roughly 3.74 percent of Nigeria’s total daily oil production.

From Opera News