Share this story:

Another round of supremacy battle is about to unfold in Imo State chapter of the All Progressive Congress, APC as the party’s national convention holds next weekend in Abuja.

The battle is warped around which of the state executive shall be recognized for the convention.

In Imo State, two factions are laying claims to the leadership involving Dr Macdonald Ebere and Mr Dan Nwafor.

While Ebere who enjoys the support of the incumbent governor, Senator Hope Uzodinma was elected claiming the last congress held October 2021, Nwafor of the former governor, Rochas Okorocha’s faction is in court insisting his removal from office was illegal, null and void, hence making him the authentic chairman.

Trumpeta recalls that in early 2019 before the general elections, Nwafor exco elected in 2018 was sacked by the National Working Committee to give room for a caretaker committee under Prince Marcon Nlemigbo.

Not wanting to lose out, Nwafor went to court to get positive judgment which has not been obeyed until he proceeded to the Supreme Court.

Despite that the Caretaker Chairman that succeeded Nwafor, Prince Marcon Nlemigbo has left office for Ebere, the Okorocha faction under Nwafor is still kicking concerning the leadership. Nwafor claim got a boost recently when the Supreme Court asked the parties involved to maintain status quo which gives Nwafor chance to remain until judgment is delivered on May 26 this year.

Trumpeta was informed that the Nwafor group has not only written to the national secretariat of the Supreme Court pronouncement but insist it remains the bonafide state exco.

In view of the fresh challenges, it is uncertain which of the factional state exco between Ebere and Nwafor that would be allowed as delegates to the national convention.

Meanwhile, names of statutory delegates based on APC guidelines have been revealed. According to the guidelines, those allowed are;

Members of the Board of Trustees,

National Chairman and all Members of the National Executive Committee,

Serving and past Presidents and Vice Presidents of the Federal Republic of Nigeria who are Members of the Party,

Serving and past Governors and Deputy Governors of States of the Federal Republic of Nigeria who are members of the Party,

Serving and past members of the National Assembly who are members of the Party; serving and past Speakers, Deputy Speakers and other principal officers of the State Houses of Assembly, and all serving members of the State Houses of Assembly who are members of the Party.

Members of the States’ Working Committee (including that of the FCT, Abuja) of the Party.

All Party Chairmen and Secretaries of the Local Government Areas/Area Councils of the country.

All elected Local Government Council/Area Council Chairmen of the country who are members of the Party.

Three elected delegates (at least one of whom must be a woman) from each LG/Area Council of the country.

Under this arrangement, the list have the following;

Governor Hope Uzodinma, Placid Njoku

Past Governor Rochas Okorocha,

Deputy Eze Madumere,

For National Assembly;

Senator Frank Ibezim,

Senator Ifeanyi Araraume,

Hon Chike Okafor,

Hon Princess Mirian Onuoha,

Hon Kingsley Uju,

Hon Ugonna Ozuruigbo,

Hon Paschal Obi,

Rt Hon Goodluck Opiah,

Hon Godfrey Dikeocha,

Rt Hon Acho Ihim,

For the Imo Lawmaker; Kennedy Ibeh,

Amara Iwuanyanwu,

Kanayo Onyemaechi,

Chigozie Nwaneri,

Eddy Obinna,

Michael Njoku,

Uju Onwudiwe,

Ngozi Obiefule,

Paul Emeziem,

Chiji Collins,

Uche Ogbuagu,

Others are; Dominic Ezerioha,

Ekene Nnodumele,

Arthur Egwim,

Obinna Okwara,

Sam Otuibe,

Herclus Okoro,

Samuel Chidi Ogbunikpa,

Johnson Duru,

Emeka Nduka, and Blyden Amajirionwu